Lab Practices Committee


The Laboratory Practices Committee strives to:

  • Help develop, standardize and disseminate accepted laboratory practices for clinical applications of cellular therapy.
  • Participate in the translation of novel cell therapy products from the laboratory to the clinic.
  • Encourage and foster the participation of laboratory practitioners in all aspects of the society.

Projects and Objectives

  • Facility Sanitization White Paper: Published in Cytotherapy July 2015.
  • Benchmark for Staffing Survey: launched September 2013.
  • ISCT Annual Meeting: The LPC is actively involved in the organization of the ISCT Annual Meeting. The LPC topic interests are included in the the Quality and Operations Track. This committee also participates in the review of abstract submissions.
  • Educational Webinars: The LPC is involved in the planning of ISCT webinars.


International Society for Cellular Therapy Facility Sanitization Survey Laboratory Practices Committee Report (Cytotherapy 2015, 17: 850-859)



Committee Chairs:

Rosemarie Bell, B.App.Sc Micro/Biochem MASM
QJMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute
Brisbane, Australia
Heather Garrity, BSc
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA, United States 


Committee Members:


Naseem Almezel, BS, MSc
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Cell Manipulation Lab 
Cincinnati, OH, United States 
Medhat Askar, MD, PhD, FRCPath
Baylor University Medical Center
Dallas, TX, United States 

Jeannette Bloom, MBA, MT(ASCP)SBB
Elected Member Technologist
June 2018 - June 2020 
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX, United States

Charlie Branson, MSc
The Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE, United States

Gloria Carmona 
Andalusian Initiative for Advanced Therapies
Seville, Spain

Jason Chandler
West Cancer Center
Memphis, TN, United States

Sufira Kiran
The University of Texas Health Science Center
Houston, TX, United States

Day Longsomboon
Interdisciplinary Stem Cell Institute
Miami, FL, United States

Nadim Mahmud, MD, PhD
University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System
Chicago, IL, United States

Athena Russell, BSc, MT (AAB)
Elected Member Technologist
June 2017 - June 2019
Emory University
Atlanta, GA, United States 

Karl Stasko, BSc, MPH
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA, United States

Michele Sugrue, MT
University of Florida Shands Cancer Center
Gainesville, FL, United States 



© 2019 ISCT. All rights reserved. 
ISCT, and the ISCT logo are registered service marks of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.
The BEACON and lighthouse logo is a service mark of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.

ISCT Privacy Policy