Hematopoietic Stem Cell Committee


The  Hematopoietic Stem Cell Committee strives to:

  • Assist in the planning of the annual meeting scientific program and the review of submitted abstracts in the hematopoietic stem cell field.
  • Review the status of the hematopoietic stem cell field and compile a list of major scientific issues that must be addressed to advance or enable emerging cell therapies.
  • Publish position papers and engage in scientific discourse as necessary to advance the field.

Projects and Objectives

  • Publish one review or position paper on the current practice of Hematopoietic Stem Cells.
  • Contribute topics and speakers to the ISCT Annual Meeting.


Committee Members:



Elizabeth J. Shpall, MD

Professor, Howard and Lee Smith Chair in Cancer Research
Deputy-Chair, Department of Stem Cell Transplantation

MD Anderson Cancer Center 
Houston, TX, United States 

Joanne Kurtzberg, MD

Jerome S. Harris Professor of Pediatrics
Pediatric Bone Marrow Transplant Specialist
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC, United States


© 2018 ISCT. All rights reserved. 
ISCT, and the ISCT logo are registered service marks of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.
The BEACON and lighthouse logo is a service mark of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.