ISCT Webinar: Harnessing the Potential of Human Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cardiac Regeneration
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
ISCT Webinar: Harnessing the Potential of Human Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cardiac Regeneration

ISCT Webinar organized by the ISCT ANZ Regional Executive Committee.

8/21/2014
When: 8/21/2014
10:30 AM
Contact: Rony Ganon, Educations and Communications Coordinator
1-604-874-4366

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

ISCT Webinar: Harnessing the Potential of Human Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cardiac Regeneration and Repair

Organized by the ISCT ANZ Regional Executive Committee


Date: Thursday, August 21, 2014

Time: 9:00am-10:00am Perth; 10:30am-11:30am Adelaide; 11:am-12pm Sydney; 1:00pm-2:00pm Auckland; 
6:30am-7:30am India; 9:00am-10:00am Singapore, Taiwan and China; 10:00am-11:00am Japan

Chair: Robert Nordon, MB BS BMed Sci, PhD, Senior Lecturer, UNSW Australia

Speakers: James Chong, Ludwig Engel Fellow and Consultant Cardiologist, Westmead Hospital and University of Sydney, and Chuck Murry, Professor, UW Medicine Pathology, University of Washington


About the Webinar:

Learning Objectives:

1. Derivation of cardiomyocytes from human pluripotent stem cells (hPSC-CM).
  •  Increase understanding of various modern differentiation protocols and the high yields of cardiomyocytes that they can produce.

2. Cell delivery models for cardiac therapy.

  • Develop an awareness of different methods for introducing cells to the injured heart including direct injection (open chest as well as minimally invasive approaches) and tissue engineering strategies.

3. Pre-clinical evaluation of human embryonic-stem-cell-derived cardiomyocytes in non-human primates.

  • Discussion of our recent translational study: advances to the field and future steps required before progression to human clinical trials.


PLEASE CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE WEBINAR

© 2018 ISCT. All rights reserved. 
ISCT, and the ISCT logo are registered service marks of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.
The BEACON and lighthouse logo is a service mark of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.