ISCT Webinar: Harnessing the Potential of Human Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cardiac Regeneration
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
ISCT Webinar: Harnessing the Potential of Human Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cardiac Regeneration

ISCT Webinar organized by the ISCT ANZ Regional Executive Committee.

8/21/2014
When: 8/21/2014
10:30 AM
Contact: Rony Ganon, Educations and Communications Coordinator
1-604-874-4366

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

ISCT Webinar: Harnessing the Potential of Human Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cardiac Regeneration and Repair

Organized by the ISCT ANZ Regional Executive Committee


Date: Thursday, August 21, 2014

Time: 9:00am-10:00am Perth; 10:30am-11:30am Adelaide; 11:am-12pm Sydney; 1:00pm-2:00pm Auckland; 
6:30am-7:30am India; 9:00am-10:00am Singapore, Taiwan and China; 10:00am-11:00am Japan

Chair: Robert Nordon, MB BS BMed Sci, PhD, Senior Lecturer, UNSW Australia

Speakers: James Chong, Ludwig Engel Fellow and Consultant Cardiologist, Westmead Hospital and University of Sydney, and Chuck Murry, Professor, UW Medicine Pathology, University of Washington


About the Webinar:

Learning Objectives:

1. Derivation of cardiomyocytes from human pluripotent stem cells (hPSC-CM).
  •  Increase understanding of various modern differentiation protocols and the high yields of cardiomyocytes that they can produce.

2. Cell delivery models for cardiac therapy.

  • Develop an awareness of different methods for introducing cells to the injured heart including direct injection (open chest as well as minimally invasive approaches) and tissue engineering strategies.

3. Pre-clinical evaluation of human embryonic-stem-cell-derived cardiomyocytes in non-human primates.

  • Discussion of our recent translational study: advances to the field and future steps required before progression to human clinical trials.


PLEASE CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE WEBINAR

© 2015 International Society for Cellular Therapy. All rights reserved.
ISCT, International Society for Cellular Therapy, and the ISCT logo are registered service marks of The International Society for Cellular Therapy.
The BEACON and lighthouse logo is a service mark of The International Society for Cellular Therapy.